top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenn Grzyvinsky

Homecoming

A few days ago I found out about Social Welfare Society's (SWS) homecoming tour to South Korea. SWS was the adoption agency I went through on the Korean side and I have been in contact with them for the past couple of months as I try to reconnect with any of my birth family.


In one of the adoption groups that I am in on Facebook I saw someone post that there were a few days left to apply and they were encouraging us all to try. I reached out and filled out the application on Monday.


I poured my heart out into the application, talking about the hole that I have always felt inside of myself. The desire I've had to go to South Korea since I was a small child. I talked about just wanting to step foot into my home country, to experience what it is like there. About wanting to connect with other Korean adoptees, people who are able to completely understand these aspects of me. I talked about wanting to meet my birth family, the foster family who cared for me until I was adopted. I would love to see the home that I was born in if it still exists today. I want to experience the culture, learn more about the history, pick up as much of the language as I possibly can, and oh my gosh try all of the food.


I only told one person about applying, I didn't want to jinx it, I didn't want to get too excited before I heard back about it. I never have luck when it comes to things like this. This morning I received a letter from the social worker who has been assisting me, he answered a few questions I had about the birth family search and ended the email by letting me know that I had been accepted.


It still hasn't fully sunk in, and I think I'm in for a big emotional shock when it does. I'll be going on the trip from August 18th-August 24th with the option to stay for 3 days longer in the hotel that they're putting us up in. They will be covering my entire trip while in South Korea, the only thing I am responsible for is my flight there and back. I will be looking into options to further extend my trip as well and I hope to spend as much time there as I am able to.


I cannot wait to see what I learn over there, the things that I experience, and all of the experiences I get to capture. Most of all, I can't wait to just be there. I cannot believe that I am able to be a part of this incredible experience and I cannot thank SWS enough for offering this opportunity to us adoptees.


I'm going to South Korea. I'm going back home.

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deep down

I haven't made a new post in a while. A part of me has been afraid to write anything. I met my birth mom 7 months ago and I thought it was everything that I had ever wanted. I thought it was the great

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page