top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenn Grzyvinsky

T-Minus 1 hour til take off

It feels surreal sitting in the waiting area of the airport. As though I can't believe today has finally come. As I handed my bags over and began to make my way down towards security I found myself holding back tears. It won't be the first or last time. I leave at 0955 from Syracuse, NY and land at 1720 on 8/16, my longest flight around 16 hours. Ironically, I believe that the flight path I am taking to Seoul is the same one that I came to Syracuse on. And just like that, I've come full circle.


After landing I won't even have 24 hours in Korea until it's time to meet my birth mom. We'll be initially meeting at the SWS office and then going out to lunch. I'll have a translator with me for that day and after that I'll need to look into other options. Between gestures and translation apps we should be able to at least communicate a bit without the need of a third person.


I am equal parts excitement and anxiety as I head into this next part of my journey. Between dance classes, hikes, visits to places I've always wanted to see, meeting my birth mom, and learning more about the history, culture, and language of where I come from the only word that really sums up my feelings is overwhelmed.


There are so many people I need to thank who have overwhelmed me with their kindness, generosity, and love. The friends, family, and strangers who donated to make this journey a reality for me. The people who have helped remind me of things I need to do before this moment. Those who have listened to me cry and just let me know that they were there. Those who celebrated with me. I cannot explain how much your support and love means to me.


Once I land in Seoul my posts will become much more photo filled as I take in and document my first home.


As always, thank you for following me on this journey.





82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Deep down

I haven't made a new post in a while. A part of me has been afraid to write anything. I met my birth mom 7 months ago and I thought it was everything that I had ever wanted. I thought it was the great

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page